skip to Main Content

Catholic Traditions

Catholic Traditions
by Mike Gendron

You nullify the Word of God by your traditions that you have handed down” (Mark 7:13)

Over the years many traditions have crept into the Roman Catholic Church, nullifying the Word of God and His saving grace. The following list shows a steady departure over the years from the pure Gospel of salvation. Each tradition goes directly against the truth of Scripture. Roman Catholics are required to believe all the doctrines of their church.

Year AD – Tradition

431 – Proclamation that infant baptism regenerates the soul.
500 – The Mass instituted as re-sacrifice of Jesus for the remission of sin
593 – Declaration that sin need to be purged, established by Pope Gregory I
600 – Prayers directed to Mary, dead saints, and angels.
786 – Worship of cross, images, and relics authorized.
995 – Canonization of dead people as saints initiated by Pope John XV.
1000 – Attendance at Mass made mandatory under the penalty of mortal sin.
1079 – Celibacy of priesthood, decreed by Pope Gregory VII.
1090 – Rosary, repetitious praying with beads, invented by Peter the Hermit.
1184 – The Inquisitions, instituted by the Council of Verona.
1190 – The sale of Indulgences established to reduce time in Purgatory.
1215 – Transubstantiation, proclaimed by Pope Innocent III.
1215 – Confession of sin to priests, instituted by Pope Innocent III.
1229 – Bible placed on Index of Forbidden Books in Toulouse.
1438 – Purgatory elevated from doctrine to dogma by Council of Florence.
1545 – Tradition claimed equal in authority with the Bible by the Council of Trent.
1546 – Apocryphal Books declared canon by Council of Trent.
1854 – Immaculate Conception of Mary, proclaimed by Pope Pius IX.
1870 – Infallibility of the Pope, proclaimed by Vatican Council.
1922 – Virgin Mary proclaimed co-redeemer with Jesus by Pope Benedict XV.
1950 – Assumption of Virgin Mary into heaven, proclaimed by Pope Pius XII.

Original Article

Back To Top