Why Does God Allow Deformed Babies?

Chris

Administrator
Staff member
Why Does God Allow Deformed Babies?
By Jack Kinsella

Why is the world the way it is? Why do some people die slow, lingering painful deaths, while others slip away peacefully in their sleep? Why do some people suffer life-long debilitating illnesses while others live their lives through with nary a sniffle? Why are babies born with birth defects?

That was the question that popped into my email box yesterday. Does God make defective babies?

“I have a challenging question you may or may not want to tackle. I am about 60 years old, I am a Christian and I have been a nurse for almost 32 years. I work in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit) at a big, teaching hospital. In Psalm 139:14 God tells us we are fearfully and wonderfully made. He knits us together in our mother’s wombs. He knows us before this is even done! How do I reconcile the fact that God knits us together in the womb with the fact that we see many anomalous infants born? (I am asking for my own understanding as well as to be able to minister to families who have these anomalous infants and either lose them in death or take them home to care for them long-term). I know we live in a sin-fallen world and things are not what they were meant to be, but does God actually knit a baby with Down’s syndrome together in the womb or one with an underdeveloped brain or heart? I am looking and seeking to understand this myself, but wondered if you had any insight into this. Thanks for considering.”

Virtually every meaningful conversation I have ever had with people on the subject of God and religion has either started with this question, or one like it. No doubt, you probably can say the same thing.

If God is real, then how come He allows evil? Let’s start there.