Sins forgiven....past, present, future?

RonJohnSilver

I'm working on a doctrinal series for the fall and I read this verse and it hit me that this seems to fly in the face of people who say (myself included) that Jesus forgave their sins past, present and future. I'm studying more on this verse now, but I wanted others thoughts as well. The verse is Romans 3:25.

25 Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God;

Andy C

I'm working on a doctrinal series for the fall and I read this verse and it hit me that this seems to fly in the face of people who say (myself included) that Jesus forgave their sins past, present and future. I'm studying more on this verse now, but I wanted others thoughts as well. The verse is Romans 3:25.

25 Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God;
I think Jack has a great answer, especially the bottom two paragraphs

Question: I recently read an article that claimed the Bible offers no proof that our future sins are forgiven. It says this is just an assumption that Eternal Security advocates have made. It says if that was the case we wouldn’t need Jesus to be our advocate (lawyer), and that Romans 3:24-25 proves that only our past sins were forgiven. I’ve thought of Colossians 2:13-14 “He forgave us all our sins …” as a rebuttal. Are there others?