Sad I disappointed the Lord...

Sweetnsalty

Hi there,
This is my first time to post but have read this forum for years. I am thankful for those of you who have contributed to this forum by answering questions and giving advice, which has been both edifying and encouraging. Those of you who have shared your struggles have been a blessing as well, as it has shown me I am not alone in battling the flesh.

I would like to share with you now a struggle of mine, and that is showing love and kindness to someone who has vengefully hurt me in the past. Last night I spoke words that I wish I hadn't...
I am regretting venting to my husband last night the absolute dislike I feel for an extended family member. The person in reference has slandered and lied about me, misrepresented situations, and has been cruel in ways very few know about or would even believe.There is so much dysfunction within this extended family unit and I hate that my family is influenced by them. Nevertheless, I was wrong and unwise in stating too honestly how I feel about this person.

I apologized to my husband this morning, and he was completely sympathetic and kind to me.
I then called the person I spoke about critically (who has no idea what I said about them)and chatted in a friendly and encouraging manner as I would normally strive to do. I hate that I gave evil a foothold and that I dishonored the Lord by speaking so harshly and critically! The Holy Spirit has helped me so much in regards to controlling the tongue, but last night I utterly failed Him. It was so unwise and last night after going to bed, I woke up thinking about it and it felt like a nightmare.

I share this in case any of you are feeling tempted to speak words that you know you shouldn't. Once they're said they can't be taken back.
Luckily I have a Savior and husband who, through their compassion and grace, have forgiven me...

sherryh