Let's talk knives: who carries a one.

LoudRam77

For years I carried one but then stopped. However the other day I was browsing through a How to Survive book and it dawned on me that it may not be a bad idea to start carrying one again. You never know when you'll need a blade so I bought a Gerber lock back. The blade is 3"and it has an open frame with a pocket clip. Nice and light.

I always had a knife handy but never carried it on me outside of work or camping. I leave one Leatherman in my truck and I carry another one when I camp. Being an electrician I always have one on me when I'm working. That's more of a folding utility knife with a replaceable razor blade

I have a few other knives to. I have a regular Buck lock back and a Swiss army knife and a few others. But the Gerber is the only one with a clip that allows me to carry it in my pocket instead of on my belt in a sheath.

But my favorite blade is a Nazi SA dress dagger my grandfather left to me that he brought back from WWII. It's an older one made before they standardized them. Probably made in the early 1930’s.

So what do you carry?

Jan51

My husband was a cowboy most of his life, and always carried a knife. No cowboy is without one. About 2-3 years when he started becoming disabled with arthritis, dizziness/loss of balance, and dementia, and I was feeding the horses, still riding some, and doing everything outside, he insisted I start carrying a knife. I tried but it was so annoying in my pocket. I already had my flip phone in one front pocket and that was annoying enough. I searched through the many knives stashed around the house and found a little one that I don't mind carrying. It's a scant 3 inches long and a scant half inch wide. I have used it lots of times.