I Remember When…

Chris

Administrator
Staff member
I Remember When…
By Bert Harper

In my early 20’s, I was a young eager pastor trying to preach God’s Word to a majority of people who were more than twice my age or older. I’ll always be thankful to those who were forgiving of my lack of experience and for those who encouraged and even praised me at the end of each service. But soon, some of the older members began to say something that was often hurtful: “I remember when…”

Usually, following this statement would come an explanation of how much better things were years ago in this same church. The member would proceed to share how much better the attendance was, how much better the sermons were from the former pastor, as well as the superiority of the visitation program and how it really worked. I never forgot how painful these comments were to hear, but now I am tempted to do the same thing and …“remember when!”

Being raised just outside of a small community in the South (smaller than Mayberry), my parents had more advantages than my sons and their wives have today raising our grandchildren. Even though today’s parents have the advantage of internet access, restaurants on almost every corner, twenty-four-hour news, and even channels that keep us posted about the latest emergency, I am writing about advantages that really matter more.