The following instructions are not for deactivating a Facebook account, but a permanent deletion.
Please note: Facebook will refuse to close your account unless you delete every last bit of you profile and wall content:
mini-feeds, friends, avatar, posts, interests, status updates, photos, private messages >>> everything!
Deleting 1,000s of photos, posts, etc. will take some time so you may find that job a lesser burden by deleting the content over a period of days.
Once you have cleared your account, contact Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/login.php?n...delete_account
FAQs and more info if needed:
How do I permanently delete my account? - Facebook Help Center | Facebook
How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account (with screenshots)
Deactivating, Deleting, and Memorializing Accounts - Facebook Help Center | Facebook
Almost forgot, the last thing you should delete is a message posted in advance informing your friends & family about closing your account.